5 reasons to start your sadhana

Sadhana is daily spiritual practice. A sadhana can include asana practice, a kriya of Kundalini yoga, mantra meditation, silent meditation, prayer, journaling or something that is meaningful to you and takes you within.

Establishing a regular sadhana takes some effort and a lot of self-discipline. But it’s highly beneficial and that is why:

  1. You awaken your body, tune up your nervous system and generate energy for the upcoming day. The vessel of your physical body is ready to serve you the best way possible throughout the day.
  2. In the quiet morning hours, while your mind is not yet distracted by miriads of different things (and most probably your family are still sleeping), you can hear the voice of your inner wisdom better. This is the best way to start your day consciously.
  3. This is the perfect time to set your intentions and the use the generated energy to make steps towards your goals.
  4. You develop your willpower, stamina and character by doing your sadhana regularly.
  5. You will learn that you’re capable of doing much more than you ever thought!

Do you have a regular yoga routine? Or are you trying to start one?

Honestly, it’s hard to start doing regular as a beginner. That’s why it’s really great to attend some group classes to receive group support and get motivated. You can learn more about my online classes here https://manko.yoga/kundalini-classes-online/

Come and see if it works for you!

Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

What to expect from a Kundalini Yoga class?

NO EXPECTATIONS: Drop your expectations and get your own experience. Nobody can tell you what it’s going to be like for you. Moreover, it will be different every time. Trust the process and your own wisdom!

However, there is a certain class structure in KY. 

– INTENTION: I like to start my classes with calming down and centering through the breath and setting an intention. Intention setting is a powerful tool on its own, and it is even more fantastic, if you combine it with yoga.

– TUNE-IN: After that we tune into our inner space with a mantra.

– WARM-UP: Then we start awakening our bodies with a gentle warm-up, which prepares us to the next step.

– KRIYA: Next is the main set of exercises, or kriya. It’s a combination of static and dynamic movements, breathing exercises, mudras and sometimes mantras. 

– SHAVASANA: After the kriya is finished, we get the well deserved shavasana – conscious relaxation in corpse pose.

– MEDITATION: After shavasana we do a meditation. 

– And finally we finish the class with a mantra.

DURATION: A regular class lasts from 1,5 to 2 hours.

Now bring your questions and fears about Kundalini Yoga and I will answer them in the comments below!

What is Kundalini Yoga?

Kundalini Yoga is an effective technology that incorporates all the physical, mental and spiritual aspects of yoga into one integrated system.

Kundalini Yoga was first openly introduced by Yogi Bhajan, when he came to the West in 1969. Before that, it was a secret style of yoga taught only to a few selected students. Kundalini Yoga is often called “the yoga of awareness”. Our goal is to cultivate greater awareness of our own identity and our relationship with our body, others, our environment and the universe.

Class structure: tune in, warm-up, kriya, relaxation, meditation and closing the class with Sat Nam.

Kriya. The word kriya means action. In Kundalini Yoga a kriya is a series of postures, breath, and sound that work toward a specific outcome. It’s important to practice the sequences exactly as given by Yogi Bhajan, with the exception of reducing the timing of postures when necessary (shorten all the exercises proportionally).